Face Time

by Cindy Bostick, Certified Best Year Yet Partner

I love this time of the year! As the end of the year approaches, I’m preparing for the annual ritual of taking inventory and planning the next year of my life. I use a brilliant three-step approach from the Best Year Yet system that I like to describe as “face time.”

The first step is to reflect on the past year, specifically what I felt good about accomplishing. The second step is less pleasant because it requires an honest look at the disappointments.  The third step is the most fun because I get to choose what I want to celebrate this time next year!

I’ve discovered working this process provides the fuel I need for the next leg of my journey.

“Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life.  Don’t be trapped by dogma – which is living with the results of other people’s thinking.  Don’t let the noise of other’s opinions drown out your own inner voice.  And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition.  They somehow already know what you truly want to become.  Everything else is secondary.” ~Steve Jobs

I’m working with a client named Josette, whose inspiring story is one of focus and perseverance.  She has not allowed the “noise” to drown out her inner voice.  In November of this year, she earned a passing grade on her thesis, completing the major piece of a stretch goal she created in 1993 (18 years ago). She started college in the early 1970’s with little direction, and eventually she quit school to pursue full time work, get married, and raise children.

When her two daughters reached elementary school age, she decided to return to college to resume focus on a personal goal.  She wanted to “walk the talk” as a role model to her beautiful daughters about the importance of education and being learning based.

For Josette it was one step at a time, one class at a time, year after year. It was always a challenge with her studies, their homework, and their afterschool activities.  Her struggles exacerbated with divorce after her long marriage, one daughter in college, and one on the way.

The divorce brought the financial challenge of keeping all three of them in school.  But a blessing came when Josette became employed by a company that provided tuition reimbursement.  Josette and her daughters split their tuition costs between student loans and parent plus loans. According to Josette, “I met every obstacle head on because I had but one focus:

Obtain my degree and make sure my daughters obtained theirs.”

Over the course of a few years Josette lost both her grandparents and her dear sweet mother who passed in 2005.  Her mother became her champion and encouraged her regularly to continue her studies.  In one of their last conversations, her mother admonished her, “Don’t quit going to school.”  Her mother knew she had taken off a quarter to spend time with her in her last few months.

During the years of 2005, 2006 and 2007, Josette and her daughters obtained their undergraduate degrees. In early 2012 Josette will earn her Masters degree in Leadership and Management, and she then intends to pursue a Doctorate degree and fulfill a life dream of becoming a university professor.  She wants to help influence young minds to think, to be creative, and to be challenged.

It is Josette’s response to common life events
that is uncommon and remarkable,
as she holds steadfast to her dream.

Several years ago I had a dream of coaching others.  During the past decade, I’ve worked in real estate in both sales and leadership roles, and I have a special passion for these professionals who work tirelessly on the front lines for their clients. So this year I launched my coaching business.

There were times when I wondered if the timing of my new venture was right, given the challenges of my self employed target market. I held fast, determined that Realtors and others needed my services today more than ever.   So I stayed connected with them, I listened to what their needs were, and I provided different mediums of coaching and training (live and online).

In 2011 I introduced 60 new clients to the Best Year Yet Online (BYYO) goal planning and tracking tool, and I’m honored to be coaching groups and individuals. I love what I do, and it feels good to finally be following my heart.

If you’d like to get started on your personal Best Year Yet goals for 2012,
please register today for my special 2 for 1 bonus offering:

https://www.bestyearyet.com/byyo/register.cfm?referral_code=1198f

All the Best,
Cindy Bostick
Mobile:  760.953.1269
Website: www.cindybostick.com
Email: cindy.bostick@bestyearyet.com

Cindy is a Best Year Yet Program Leader and Business/Life Coach. She is President of the 2012 Women’s Council of Realtors Victor Valley Chapter and also a Real Estate Broker. In 2010, Cindy transitioned from the role of managing a large real estate franchise to focus on coaching individuals and teams achieve the results they most want and need in their lives.

She is especially sensitive to the challenges faced by real estate and other professionals today and works with her clients to provide perspective, a road map and accountability as they create and achieve their most important business and personal goals.

Prior to real estate sales, management and coaching, Cindy invested 20 years in the defense industry as Sr. Finance and Business Manager. She holds an undergraduate degree in Business and has completed graduate level marketing course work.

In January 2012, Cindy will be attending Michael Neill’s internationally renowned Supercoach Academy.

Cindy and her husband reside in Apple Valley, Ca.