Mindset Matters – Live Your Paradigm

by Diana Baysinger,  Best Year Yet Partner and Trainer

 
Each year at the end of December, I look forward to making my new Best Year Yet plan. I have been creating Best Year Yet plans for 12 years, and what I have noticed is how the paradigms that emerged each year tracked my growth and development. It has been an extraordinary ride through my 50’s and into my 60’s as I have grown more and more confident in the passion and purpose I experience in my life.

Eleven years ago when I was first introduced to BYY, I was celebrating my 17th year as a successful Licensed Marriage and Family therapist in private practice, my sons had been launched into their own lives, and I was looking forward to kicking back and taking more time for myself and my own life. I had spent the majority of my life living up to other people’s expectations and so it was not surprising that the answer to Best Year Yet Question 4, my most limiting paradigm, was “Everyone else’s needs come first.

I was not accustomed to thinking through what I wanted; I was more focused on what others wanted. The discipline of setting goals that reflected what I wanted in my life was challenging. My paradigm that year was ”I am important.” During that first year, I began to travel and took 4 weeks off during the summer to spend time with family in Maine.

These simple words led to more conscious choices, and it was the beginning of a mindset that has set me free to live what I know now to be my true purpose. It took me two years to relax into this new mindset as I moved from other limiting paradigms such as, “It is too hard to learn new things” to “I have all the resources I need to be successful.”

My “I am important” paradigm carried me through a year when my coaching business began to blossom. It took on a life of its own, and I was challenged to keep up with all the new things I was learning and using in my service. My work expanded from the United States into Europe and I spent time in the Netherlands with colleagues and friends. Thanks to my paradigm I took a 5-day cycling trip with friends down the Danube River.

By the 5th year, I was feeling a shift from the conscious effort I made to live into the paradigm to a relaxation and trust in living from my paradigm.  I was more creative and aligned with trust in the higher good that kept presenting itself to me. I felt a reconnection with something that had always been present in my life and was now embedded in my daily practice.

My faith grew ~ Forward Action Inspired by a Trust in a Higher Power. During this timeframe, I developed new business partnerships and started working with non-profit organizations, colleges and a local foundation.

Over the last five years I have felt a depth of gratitude. Yes, even through the economic challenges, I have felt a depth of gratitude for the things that I cherish most: family, friends, fun, faith, health and service. My paradigms have kept me focused on these most valuable parts of life. When it comes to these things, I am a wealthy woman.

Recently, I was asked to step up and claim my role as a leader. I felt uncomfortable about the suggestion and yet when I was making my paradigm I challenged myself to break through the discomfort and take a stab at a paradigm that would reflect the suggestion. My first attempt at the new paradigm for 2012 was, “I am an extraordinary leader who makes a difference in the world.” I let that sit for a few days and all of a sudden the one that really resonated came to me and this is the one I declare for 2012.

“I lead from the inside out, making dreams come true
for myself and the people I serve.”

Once again my paradigm challenged me to move from an outside influence to the inside and align with what is most true for me. As you think about this year, think about the paradigm you want to live from, declare it and live it and watch the miracles of passion and purpose come alive in your own life.

If you would like to receive a free half-hour consultation with your BYYO plan for 2012, please click here and then write to me diana.baysinger@gmail.com to book a time for us to meet.

diana-baysinger-bestyearyet

Diana Baysinger, co-owner of Arizona Partners has been in business for over 29 years. She serves non-profits, leaders, individuals, students and teams throughout the United States and Europe. She is the Best Year Yet Online coaching certification trainer and has trained over 45 individuals around the world to use Best Year Yet in their business. You can contact Diana at arizonapartners.net or diana.baysinger@gmail.com